summary of final project

I made 140 portraits for my final project in alternative process. the mediums were cyanotype, kallitype, liquid light, platinum palladium print, reductive monoprint, and painted monoprint.

i decided to hang the work in strip form because it is the most efficient way to get the viewer to interact with the piece, and i feel that it also is a very elegant way to display such an absurd number of images.

my aim was to get the viewer to be overwhelmed by the number of images, and therefor have them interact with the piece more on a intellectual/emotional level than on an aesthetic one.

I am not so much interested in creating clear photographs, or to create documents of an image. I am more interested in capturing a feeling, or a thought, or a time or generation or an idea. preferably all at once. By creating abstracted portraits, i am trying to capture more than what a person looks like.I am trying to capture who they are in an emotional and cultural sense. I chose to mix media for a few reasons. One, i felt that by mixing media, i draws the viewer more into and around the piece, therefore giving more of the interaction i desire. Honestly, if it weren’t taboo, i would want people to rub their hands all over my work, and smell it, and lick it, or interact with it anyway they want, short of completely destroying it. MY other reason for mixing media is i decided that not every portrait i had lent itself to just one media.

Leave a comment