The Start of a New Semester

I’m going to try and do a better job of using this as a digital sketchbook and process blog.

i’m farting around in my artist multiples class with Kathy Vajda, and our first assignment is to find building blocks and elements to create a project of modular multiples.

i’ve been sort of obsessed with hoarding my entire life, and how people live and organize themselves. perhaps it comes from being raised by two obsessive compulsive hoarders. (this is not hyperbole. you should see my garage/attic/basement.) I want to use pictures of piles of stuff, and the contents of people drawers, and sort of create new piles and drawers of clutter using modular silk screening and digital print.

i think that creating ten different drawers with modular elements would be an interesting way to pursue this project.

right now i’m leaning towards kitchen utensils. possibly jewelry. or makeup. I would like to work with contemporary femininity, as it’s something i find interesting and apparently my views on feminism are rather controversial (although i do NOT want to make “feminist art” as it can be super trite and obnoxious and the stigma of a work being feminist often outweighs what people can/will appreciate based on its craft and aesthetics.

here are some piles and drawers i have found on the google.









and of course, the absolute king of piles, kurt schwitters and his merzbau:

this project/class should be really good for me, as i’ve been working in multiples for a while. case points are my print final from fall sophomore year and my photo
final from last semester. :






Leave a comment